A New Years Resolution
January 15, 2008, 11:02 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

One of the disciplines that I believe the Lord desires me to grow in for 2008 (and perhaps for the rest of my life) is Scripture Memory. The biggest benefit I have found in memorizing Scripture is that it helps me to pray. Many times I feel so direction-less in prayer, and it causes me to simply stop praying. However, when I can recall the promises of God, the character of God, and the commands of God that are found in His Word, it “fuels” further prayer. And it also gives me confidence that I am not just praying according to my selfish desires or interpretations, but according to His will revealed in His word. Furthermore, I have found that committing Scripture to memory is a good weapon in the fight against sin. After all, in Psalm 119:9,11 it says, “How can a young man keep his way pure? By guarding it according to your word. I have stored up your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you.”

My aim is to memorize one verse per week. I’ve memorized a good number of verses in the New International Version (NIV), but since I’ve transitioned to the English Standard Version (ESV), I’m going to have to do some back-tracking. I’m going to be following the Fighter Verses list put together by Bethlehem Baptist Church. Why am I posting this? The discipline of posting it publicly helps to keep me accountable. Furthermore, the discipline of typing out the verses causes me to reflect on the verse that much more. Therefore, I’m going to try to post one verse every week. It’s third week of January, so I’m going to list the first three verses :

Week #1

Isaiah 41:10 – Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Week #2

Isaiah 43:1b-3a – Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name, you are mine. 2 When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you; when you walk through fire you shall not be burned, and the flame shall not consume you. 3 For I am the LORD your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.

Week #3

1 Thessalonians 5:14-22 – And we urge you, brothers, admonish the idle, encourage the fainthearted, help the weak, be patient with them all. 15 See that no one repays anyone evil for evil, but always seek to do good to one another and to everyone. 16 Rejoice always, 17 pray without ceasing, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. 19 Do not quench the Spirit. 20 Do not despise prophecies, 21 but test everything; hold fast what is good. 22 Abstain from every form of evil.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

