John Piper and the Prosperity Gospel
March 4, 2008, 8:06 pm
Filed under: gospel

I saw this video posted on a fellow blogger’s site, and thought it was very powerful. In some ways Piper’s attitude here reminds me of what I read in the beginning of Galatians:

Galatians 1:6 I am astonished that you are so quickly deserting the one who called you by the grace of Christ and are turning to a different gospel — 7 which is really no gospel at all. Evidently some people are throwing you into confusion and are trying to pervert the gospel of Christ. 8 But even if we or an angel from heaven should preach a gospel other than the one we preached to you, let him be eternally condemned! 9 As we have already said, so now I say again: If anybody is preaching to you a gospel other than what you accepted, let him be eternally condemned!

Although the perversion of the gospel that Paul is speaking of in Galatians is the legalism of the Judaizers, I think these words of Galatians apply to any perversion of the gospel, including the prosperity gospel.  All the more, we need to be very careful to stay in line with the gospel!
3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Greetings, “Immanuel Pastor!” Glad to hear from you and hope all is well with the family and ministry. 🙂

Comment by Brian Park

Dear Pastor Reggie,
From your experience with interacting with “missional” and “Gospel-centered” church leaders like Driscoll, Keller, Patrick, etc., how would you characterize the difference between their approach and that of Piper who also advocates “Gospel-centered” theology, but maybe not so much emphasis on “missional”?

Not sure if he does, but i am assuming he doesn’t. Do you think there is a fear of syncretism creeping in if you take it too far? Would it be too different from the home-based churches?

Comment by Abey

Reggie, I just came across your blog, and the title of it reminded me of a wonderful hymn called “I Boast No More” by Isaac Watts. Here are the lyrics:

1. No more, my God, I boast no more
Of all the duties I have done;
I quit the hopes I held before,
To trust the merits of Thy Son

Chorus: No more my God,
No more my God,
No more my God,
I boast no more.

2. Now, for the loss I bear His name,
What was my gain I count my loss;
My former pride I call my shame,
And nail my glory to His cross.
(Repeat chorus)

Bridge: Yes, and I must and will esteem
All things but loss for Jesus’ sake;
O may my soul be found in Him,
And of His righteousness partake!

3. The best obedience of my hands
Dares not appear before Thy throne;
But faith can answer Thy demands,
By pleading what my Lord has done

I can send you a recording of this done by Caedmon’s Call from their “In the Company of Angels” album, if you’d like. Blessings, my friend, and I hope to see you on the court soon!

Christ is Risen!!,

~ Rob Galarza

Comment by joseflanders




Leave a Reply

