A Powerful Testimony of Faith
December 10, 2008, 6:20 pm
Filed under: news, world

If you’ve seen the news recently, a fighter plane doing some training exercises went down in a San Diego residential area.  In God’s sovereign plan, it crashed into the home of Dong Yun Yoon, killing his wife, their two young children (15 months and 2 months) and his mother-in-law.   Yoon was at work at the time of the crash.  The family had only moved into the home a month ago. His mother-in-law was scheduled to leave for Korea in a week.  By God’s grace, Yoon said that he bore no ill will towards the pilot involved in the tragedy.

Here are some excerpts of interviews and articles :

“Please pray for him not to suffer from this accident. I know he’s one of our treasures for the country. And I don’t blame him, I don’t have any hard feelings. I know he did everything he could.”

“Nobody expected such a horrible thing to happen, especially right here, you know, our house,” Don Yoon said at a Tuesday news conference in front of his decimated home in University City. “I believe my wife and two babies and mother-in-law are in heaven with God, and I know God is taking care of them.”

“Right now, I don’t know how I feel,” he said.  “Please tell me how to do it. I don’t know what to do,” he said. “My wife, it was God’s blessing that I met her four years ago and we got married. She’s just such a lovely wife and mother who always loves me and the babies.”

Chocking back tears, Yoon said, “I just miss her so much. … I cannot believe that they are not here right now.”

Yoon said his mother-in-law was devoted to the family.  “She loved our kids and didn’t complain at all,” he said.

A number of things come to mind as I think about this scenario.  On the one hand, it all seems so random.  In a certain perspective, there are so many things God “could have” done to save this family from calamity : He could have kept them from moving or at least delayed it.  He could have caused the mother-in-law to have left earlier.  He could have kept the plane from malfunctioning.  But as I understand the sovereignty of God, I can see God’s fingerprints all over the place in the exact circumstances that took place.  God could have intervened in all those ways to avoid calamity, and perhaps a lot of it would have been taken for granted.  Life would have gone on.  But in the midst of this calamity, this man’s testimony and trust in God and lack of desire for vengeance and care for the pilot has a way of exalting Christ that the world has to stop and say, “He said what?” and “He did what?” and more importantly, “Why?” and  “How?”  And when those questions are asked, I see opportunity for God to be talked about and magnified even in calamity and confusion.

I will certainly be praying for this man as he mourns the loss of his precious family, but I will join him in praying for the pilot to know the peace that only God can give through a relationship with Jesus Christ.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

